Objectivity and Subjectivity

 

Earlier today, in a Facebook page dedicated to photography in Minnesota, I made this comment:

“No offense meant, of course….

But, why don’t you go explore the area…? Without more information about what you’re shooting, ie: Models, Urban Exploration, birds, etc. this is a hard question to answer….

Scouting locations is part of a tog’s work, why shoot where/what everybody else has…? There truly is beauty in everything in Minnesota. You just have to apply your own photographic vision to bring it out. Photographers work scenes to find their angles.

*sucks that I have to say this, but this comment is not meant as snark. So, take it for what it is, solid advice”

The poster was looking for a suggested location to shoot pictures.

To me, that is a signal of laziness. While some aspects of asking such a question on social media can have a plus-side, for instance camaraderie, bonding, and the like. This post was different. There was no interaction from the OP on the post!

So, I wrote this to the page, and want to share it here:

I understand, some of us are busy. But, as I said there, the footwork of being a tog should never be left undone. I implore you, as a photographer, a student of the art, and as a human being: GET OUT AND EXPLORE!

So, to illustrate what I mean about exploring a location, to find the angles that you are looking for as a photographer, I decided to throw up these edits.

True, not all of these images are of the type many of us ARE looking for–I was fulfilling the parameters of an assignment–when shooting models, urban exploration, or what have you, but they are illustrative of the point.

This exercise, from a digital photography class was primarily about Objectivity and Subjectivity. The exercise was designed by my instructor for us to “work a scene,” to find angles in a particular location that are meant to evoke (provoke?) a reaction. To find a location and photograph it from an objective standpoint (discovery) to the subjective (influenced by personal taste).

In my urban explorations, I find a TON of scenes just like this, and I work the angles.

Leave a Reply

